Henry II had the King’s Houses built at King’s Clipstone and had Clipstone Park enclosed to the south-west of the King’s Houses in around 1176-1180. The King’s Houses provided Henry II and subsequent kings a place to stay and hold court and a nearby park to use for hunting deer. Clipstone Park was to the east of what is now Spa Ponds, and in this context ‘Clipstone’ is what was until recently called Old Clipstone but has now been renamed King’s Clipstone after its historic Latin name of Clipstone Regis.
Having a park for hunting (and to provide venison for feasts to show off one’s status) was all the rage amongst the nobles, and the king was no exception. To quote Aljos Farjon: “After the Norman conquest of England in 1066 deer parks became a ‘craze’ among the new nobility, who had taken over almost all the land held before by the Anglo-Saxons. While the Domesday Book in 1086 only recorded 37 deer parks, by around 1300 there may have been as many as 3,000. Every nobleman wanted a park and many had one, while great magnates and some bishops owned 10 or more and the king could boast as many as 80 to 100”.
The King’s Houses have also gone by the name of “King John’s Palace” since the 18th century, despite John having spent relatively little time there compared to some of the other kings. It was visited by a series of kings (especially during deer season) and remained in royal ownership until 1603??? (which we will get to later).
Previous: The Domesday of Mansfield and Clipstone (1066-1102)
Next: The People and the Peel
Sources and further reafing:
- Palace for Our Kings (James Wright, 2016)
- David Crook (1976). Clipstone Park and ‘Peel’. Transactions of the Thoroton Society of Nottinghamshire. 80, pp35-46.